Just past the Park Grand London Kensington, one of the many hotels near Hogarth road, lies the Hogarth roundabout. Named after William Hogarth, a famous 18th century painter who occupied Hogarth’s House near the roundabout, it can be found at the junction that combines the A316 Great Chertsey Road and the A4 Great West Road.
Beer, Beer and more Beer
Situated seconds from the roundabout is the Griffin Brewery, a 16th century brewery owned by Fuller, Smith and Turner. It was previously owned by Douglas and Henry Thompson and Philip Wood but, in 1829, they had to seek out another investor due to money issues and John Fuller joined the business. However, this union was fraught with issues and the company parted ways in 1841; this left John Fuller in sole charge and in need of more investors. In 1845, Henry Smith and John Turner came on board and they formed what is now known today as Fuller Smith & Turner.
The company has gone from strength to strength; it is now a limited company and in 2005 they acquired George Gale & Co. ltd which added an extra 111 houses to the Fuller’s estate. In total, Fuller’s owns over 380 pubs located all over the UK; from Brighton up to Birmingham and with 168 all located within the M25. The company’s most famous beer is London Pride, which is sold throughout England, as well as award-winning ESB, 1845 and Chiswick Bitter, all of which have been awarded with Champion Beer of Britain.
If you are a fan of great tasting beer, then book yourself onto a tour of the Griffin Brewery. You will get an inside look of a working brewery and delve into the history and secrets that span over 160 years, such as viewing the oldest wisteria plant in the UK. Not only that, but this hour and a half tour includes tasting sessions for you to sample some of the finest, award-winning ales in the UK, what more could you want?
Chiswick House – A History
Past the hotels near Hogarth road lies the exquisite Chiswick House, a breathtaking homage to the architect Andrea Palladio, whose designs were inspired by the Ancient Greek and Roman architecture. Built in the late 17th century and completed in the early 18th century by the third Earl of Burlington, it was built with the intention of housing his various collections and to host parties for his groups of friends.
From the very beginning the Chiswick House has been associated with the rich and famous: from the Earl himself who was considered a great man of the arts to William Kent, the father of landscape gardening and an avid lover of the Palladian style, having introduced it to England through the construction of Chiswick House. Many of the rooms within the house were designed by Kent himself, including the divine velvet rooms that are made up of green, blue and red velvet walls, as well as the gardens which have been claimed to have given inspiration to Central Park in New York City. Along with William Kent were famous names such as Handel, Alexander Pope, John Gay and Issac Ware as well as Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in the 19th century. It became a favourite of many royal families throughout the ages with Russian Tsar Nicholas 1st being greeted to Chiswick House with a garden party that had four giraffes in attendance, and Queen Mary, in the early 20th century, frequently graced the gardens to admire its camellias.
As time has passed, the popularity of the House has never wavered; the Beatles performed here and made two promotional videos on the grounds, as well as famous magazines such as Vanity Fair and children’s television series such as Horrible History’s.
Chiswick House is enclosed by a staggering 65 acres of pure beauty and lusciousness. Its array of plants, flowers, secret delights and architectural surprises have created a haven and astounded visitors for centuries. Home to the English Landscape Movement, which has inspired many gardens around the world, it was created in 1729 in the form of artwork by Lord Burlington and William Kent. They removed the harsh lines and uniformity of the Renaissance landscape and created a more natural flow within the garden; this included inputting a sloping lawn that led to an artificial river which was an astounding feat in its day.
Top Things to see in the Gardens
- Doric Column
The Doric Column was designed in 1720 by Lord Burlington and holds a copy of the Venus de Medici from the Uffizi Gallery. It was once removed and replaced by a rose garden in 1811 but now the statue is back in its rightful place.
This impressive sight was finished in 1745 and created a breathtaking backdrop for Lord Burlington’s astounding collection of sculptures. This collection included three figure statues of Cicero, Pompey and Caesar brought back from Rome to grace the garden; these can now be seen in Chiswick House.
- Patte d’oie
This translates to ‘goose-foot’ and it describes Lord Burlington’s main garden feature where three paths radiate out and each end at a small building. It is believed that this style of garden echoes a layout found in a Roman garden and only one of these avenues now survives.
The left path used to lead to the bath-house, or Bagnio, which was designed in 1717 and was demolished in 1778. The middle path led to the Domed Building which was designed by James Gibb in 1716 which echoed the Pantheon in Athens. Demolished in 1784, this avenue is now home to a Venetian window from Chiswick House. The right hand path is the only one to survive and leads visitors to the Rustic House.